Theater De Roode Bioscoop
Jesse van Ruller en Reinier Baas
Krijn van Noordwijk (Reinier Baas)

Jesse van Ruller en Reinier Baas

When a teenage Reinier Baas first saw Jesse van Ruller play the guitar, he was stupefied. Up until that point, he had no idea that some of the things he saw and heard were even remotely possible. Ultimately, it has lead him to develop a style of his own. Baas: “I couldn’t even imitate Jesse if I wanted to, so I’ve had to come up with something else.” Van Ruller had just come to prominence, as a recipient of the prestigious Thelonious Monk Award (1995). Years later, they are both considered to be among the most notable European jazz guitarists. They perform as a duo only occasionally, but thoroughly enjoy challenging and surprising each other when they get the chance.

Woensdag 03 mei 2023 - 20:00 uur - € 18,00

Reinier Baas is a guitarist, composer and recording artist from the Netherlands with a DIY approach and an idiosyncratic body of work. His ‘mostly instrumental opera’ from 2016, entitled ‘Reinier Baas vs. Princess Discombobulatrix’, and his 2012 record ‘Mostly Improvised Instrumental Indie Music’ both earned him an Edison Award. Baas is sought after as a soloist as well as a composer. He has written for and performed with the WDR Big Band, Metropole Orkest and Pynarello Symphony Orchestra, among many others. Baas is a senior lecturer at the Conservatory of Amsterdam, as well as a professor at Siena Jazz University.

Jesse van Ruller won the Thelonious Monk Competition in Washington in 1995. The jury, consisting of Pat Metheny, John Scofield, Jim Hall, Pat Martino and Mark Whitfield, was of the opinion that van Ruller is one of the most promising talents of his time. Since then he has performed with numerous renowned musicians and ensembles amongst which are George Duke, Joe Lovano, Pat Metheny, Peter Erskine, Mike Stern, Tom Harrell, Philip Catherine, Toots Thielemans, the Roy Hargrove Quintet, Christian McBride, Seamus Blake, Metropole Orchestra, Asko Ensemble, WDR Big Band, Birmingham Symphony Orchestra and the Berliner Philharmoniker.